Take a Break: I Took My Own Advice

It has been a while.  I took my own advice and had to simply slow down.  I was feeling very overwhelmed by life with both its beauties and stresses. I found myself trying to balance work, home, church, and writing; all combined it is sometimes too many balls juggling at once.  I don’t have children yet, so I can only imagine what an adventure that will be.  However, this week, we had multiple blessings and I want to share some of the things we were able to enjoy because we slowed down.  Just a little bit.

IMG_5897
The daffodils have come! My heart, like William Wordsworth, really does “dance with the daffodils,” especially the first time I see them in spring.  It seems like they appear overnight. Hope springs ahead. Daylight savings means there’s more time to enjoy the sunlight after work and school. And we all know that we can use the Vitamin D. Parker and I really believe it affects us.
I don't know how it happened. (Wink Wink!) I was walking in the library with my students and this book just jumped right into my hands!  Get a new read!
I don’t know how it happened. (Wink Wink!) I was walking in the library with my students and this book just jumped right into my hands! Get a new read! I’d been meaning to read this one for a long time.  Also see Fed Up! I had Book Club this week too, which is such a great time! Nothing like a group of southern women laughing about great reads. 
Went to a baby shower.  There were actually two that I needed to attend, but could only attend the one in the morning because I needed to take a practice test to prepare for a PRAXIS test this upcoming Saturday.  That's right! He's not the only one who studies!
Went to a baby shower. There were actually two that I needed to attend, but could only attend the one in the morning because I needed to take a practice test to prepare for a PRAXIS test this upcoming Saturday. That’s right! He’s not the only one who studies!
We also went on a date this week with some friends both from Parker's school and my work.  Laura goes to school with Parker and Austin and I work together.
We also went on a date this week with some friends both from Parker’s school and my work. Laura goes to school with Parker and Austin and I work together.
So fun playing a large Kerplunk game!
So fun playing a large Kerplunk game!
And shuffleboard.  Turns out I'm not very good at it.  It's the same problem with tennis.  I don't know my own strength.  The puck goes flying off the end!
And shuffleboard. Turns out I’m not very good at it. It’s the same problem with tennis. I don’t know my own strength. The puck goes flying off the end!

It was nice just to take a night off from the normal routine.  I also have to add that on Friday night, some friends ding-dong ditched us in the best way.  They left a bag of candy, popcorn, and a movie for us to enjoy!  God’s looking out for us.  Or at least, He’s sending his angels in the form of friends to lift us when we’re overloaded.  There are so many people that the Lord puts in your life to take care of you when you need it. Sometimes they are close by, ready to literally ring your doorbell or go on a walk.  Sometimes they are far and you simply Facetime.  Sometimes your best friend above is watching it all.  I should really say that He’s watching all the time.  Look for His hand and tender mercies in your life. Hope you can find a way to take a break for yourselves this week! Love, S & P

Leave a Reply

