Friends, Family, Food, & Football

It’s Football Time in Tennessee (and South Carolina)!

IMG_3842
“I wasn’t born in the south, but I got here as quick as I could” (Parker, in his medical school interview).
Alma Maters
Alma Maters

My medium news for the day in Young Women’s was that I watched three football games yesterday; I would have been happy with one since that’s my threshold. However, being early in the season, we of course had to watch Tennessee and Utah and BYU and USC and Clemson.  I loved hanging out with friends throughout the day.  And thanks to the women at church, I got my crafting on! They were brilliant with their designs, and I happily borrowed them.

 

I made this with the intention of taking it to work, where I spend a lot of time anyways, but it's so cute, it may not make it there.
I made this with the intention of taking it to work, where I spend a lot of time anyways, but it’s so cute, it may not make it there.
IMG_3892
Ditto

Last weekend though was just right! Our friends Adam and Crystal flew in from Utah to visit.  We had so much fun showing them around.  So much that it took me three full days of being at work to actually get back into gear.  I worked up the energy to look presentable for work by Friday morning…just in time for the weekend.  Oops.

The Smokies!
The Smokies!

We did so many fun things!

Dinner at Mac’s, our favorite BBQ joint in Greenville, with a walk along Reedy River Falls.

IMG_3812

Dollywood in Pigeon Forge, TN, complete with kettlecorn, roller coasters, and the American Bald Eagle show.

 

Dollywood!
Dollywood
IMG_3897
This woman is 60, and she still rides roller coasters! Go Mom!

The Tennessee vs. Utah State football game (sorry Crystal).

Three UT fans, One Aggie
Three UT fans, One Aggie
Party of two, missing one Colbster.
Party of two, missing one Colbster.

IMG_3894

 

Boating and Jet-skiing at Douglas lake.

IMG_3868

Eating without stop at every opportunity (we’re paying now for it…)

IMG_3866

The Devil
The Devil

 

Parker and I have been so blessed with our friendships.  He and I often talk about our belief that not only can family relationships extend beyond this life, but also our relationships with our friends.  We have so many friends who are more like family, be it from childhood, college, and those we are developing now in South Carolina.

I really believe that God places people and opportunities into our lives.  We just have to look and be open to the blessings.

Leave a Reply

